All motor vehicles registered in Maryland must be insured by a company licensed in the state.
In Maryland, the person who was at fault for an accident is liable to pay for damages or injuries caused by the accident. This is called a “fault system” and in Maryland, every driver is required to carry auto liability insurance in the following amounts :
- $30,000 for bodily injury per person
- $60,000 for bodily injury for two or more people
- $15,000 for property damage.
Anyone who registers a car in Maryland must sign an insurance certification acknowledging that the minimum vehicle liability insurance will be maintained and the vehicle will not be driven without insurance. If you are caught driving without the proper insurance, you could:
- Lose registration privileges
- Have to pay uninsured motorist penalty fees
- Be prohibited from registering any future vehicles
- Have license plates confiscated
- Pay a fine of up to $1,000 and/or one year imprisonment
As you can see, it is very important to at least carry the minimum insurance required by law. At the Bye Insurance Agency, we can help you determine just how much insurance is right for you. Our agents will look at how much you drive, where you drive, and your overall driving habits to help determine what policies are right for you.
If you are a Maryland resident, we can help you find affordable auto insurance that protects you, your vehicle, and other drivers. Give us a call or fill out the form on this page for more information.